Kalamu ya Salaam's information blog





Roundel Poetry Competition 2015

Judge: Susan Wicks

First Prize: £200    Second Prize: £100   Third Prize: £50

Closing Date: 31 May 2015

Entry fee: £3 per poem. No entry form needed. Open to anyone

aged 18 or over. Poems are welcome on any subject. There is no limit to the number of entries per person. Each poem should be typed on a single A4 sheet. Your name must not appear on the 

poem. Please enclose a separate A4 sheet with your name, contact details, email address and title(s) of your poem(s).

Postal entries only.

Winners will be announced at a prizegiving ceremony on 

Fri 24 July in Tonbridge. Results of the competition and winning poems will be published on the website. 


Poems must be:

  • the entrant’s original work
  • written in English
  • no longer than 40 lines (not including title or dedication)
  • unpublished and not already accepted for publication

Poems will be judged anonymously and the judge will see each piece. No entrant may win more than one prize.

Entries by 31 May 2015 to:

The Administrator, Roundel Poetry Competition, 

Leavers Cottage, Hadlow, Kent TN11 0LT

Cheques/POs payable to: Eric Beston. Please write Roundel 2015 on the back.

Any queries, please contact us via our Contact Page.

About the Judge

Susan Wicks was born and grew up in Kent where she still lives. She studied French and Swedish at the University of Hull before going to Sussex to write her D.Phil thesis on the creation of character in the fiction of Andre Gide.

She is the author of 6 collections of poetry, and has been shortlisted for both the T.S. Eliot and the Forward Prize for Poetry. Her latest collection, House of Tongues, was published by Bloodaxe in 2011. She has also written 3 novels, a short memoir, Driving my Father (Faber 1995), and a collection of short stories (Bluechrome 2008).

Susan works as a freelance tutor and translator. Cold Spring in Winter (Arc 2009), her translation of the French poet, Valerie Rouzeau, won the Scott Moncrieff prize and was shortlisted for Canada’s prestigious Griffin Prize as well as the Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize for Literary Translation. In 2014, her translation of Valerie Rouzeau’s Talking Vrouz won the Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize.